National Football Foundation lauds county’s top scholar-athletes

The National Football Foundation’s Riverside County chapter earlier honored nearly two dozen players for their achievements on and off the field. The event occurred Sunday at the Country Club at Soboba Springs in San Jacinto.
Coaches nominated players and athletes had to complete a self-appraisal form.
The following criteria were used to qualify a candidate: grade-point average, with a 3.0 minimum (40 percent); first-team all-league selection (40 percent); and community service and additional extracurricular activities
(20 percent).
CIF Southern Section Commissioner Rob Wigod was the featured speaker. CIF-SS Assistant Commissioner Glenn Martinez also
spoke at the ceremony.
Recognized were:

King: Matthew Sylvester

Arlington: Jihad Abuhijleh Carnegie: Francis Bemiy Centennial: Camron Pitcher Jr.
Citrus Hill: Jorden Kinney Desert Christian Academy: Wyatt Snellenberger Desert Mirage: Omar Bautista
Elsinore: Isaiah Hobson Great Oak: Brennan Jackson
Heritage: Jesse Estrada
King: Matthew Sylvester
La Quinta: Juan Ruiz Moreno Valley: Jacari McKinney
North: Bruce Mephors Paloma Valley: Chance Nolan
Patriot: John Ober III Ramona: Isaiah Baker Rancho Mirage: Tanner Williams
Rancho Verde: Jasiah Richard-Lewis
Roosevelt: Andy Koch San Jacinto: Kevin Maria Santiago: Alex Benter Temecula Valley: Trevor Matagulay
Temescal Canyon: Chris Frey
Valley View: Robert Heirmann